SAFF Elects Vice Presidents and Discusses SAFF Championship 2023

SAFF Congress Elects Ali Umar and Sundar Narsingh Joshi as Vice Presidents, Discusses 14th Championship, and Outlines Plans for Club Championship

The SAFF (South Asian Football Federation) Ordinary Congress took place on May 6, 2023, at the Intercontinental Hotel in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Ali Umar and Sundar Narsingh Joshi have been elected as the Vice Presidents of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) for the remaining term of 2022-2026. The election took place during the SAFF Congress and both officials were elected unopposed. Umar is from the Football Association of Maldives, while Joshi is from the All Nepal Football Association. This position had been vacant since the last congress on July 2, 2022.

In addition, Dr. Shaji Prabhakaran, the General Secretary of the AIFF (All India Football Federation), was elected as the SAFF representative at the AFC (Asian Football Confederation) Executive Committee for the term of 2023-2027.

The SAFF Executive Committee also held discussions on the 14th SAFF Championship 2023. This edition is scheduled to take place in Bengaluru, India, from June 21 to July 4, 2023. The committee also decided to wait until May 15, to find another guest team for the competition. SAFF, as agreed in the previous executive meeting to invite teams outside this region. So far, seven teams have been confirmed for the championship, with Kuwait (guest) being the latest team to confirm their participation.

Furthermore, the SAFF Executive Committee also outlined plans for the first-ever SAFF Club Championship to be held in the near future.

The 2023 championship will be missing Football Sri Lanka. They are sanctioned by FIFA on 21 January 2023, making them ineligible to participate in the competition.

To stay updated on the latest SAFF news, including the 14th SAFF Championship and future events, visit our website, Here we provide up-to-date information on South Asian football, along with live match broadcasts.

SAFF Congress Elects Vice Presidents, Confirms Championship Details, and Plans Club Championship

  • SAFF elected Ali Umar and Sundar Narsingh Joshi as Vice Presidents.
  • Dr. Shaji Prabhakaran elected as SAFF representative at AFC Executive Committee.
  • 14th SAFF Championship scheduled in Bengaluru from June 21 to July 4.
  • SAFF is waiting until May 15 to find another team and has invited non-SAFF teams.
  • Seven teams have confirmed for the championship, including Kuwait.
  • SAFF plans to hold the first-ever SAFF Club Championship.

Also Read: SAFF Championship 2023: All You Need to Know
Also Read: Erling Haaland in the Champions League 2022/23 Season | Goals, Records

Give Your Comment

Invalid Click