Lionel Messi only player in history to win the Golden Ball twice

Lionel Messi becomes first player to win Golden Ball twice as Argentina win FIFA World Cup 2022

At the age of 35, the seven-time Ballon d’Or winner only needed the trophy to finish off his impressive trophy cabinet: the FIFA World Cup and now it’s done. For many, it will solidify his reputation as one of the best football players of all time, if not the best.

Lionel Messi, who led Argentina to a triumph over France in a penalty shootout after a thrilling Qatar 2022 final, has won the World Cup Golden Ball, making history by being the first person to do so twice.

At the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, Messi took home the Golden Ball after helping Argentina place second. Eight years earlier, at Brazil 2014, when Germany defeated Argentina in the championship game, the 35-year-old was awarded the Golden Ball.

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is awarded to the tournament’s finest player, and after scoring 7 goals and contributing to 3 in Qatar, there was little debate as to who would receive the distinction. Lionel Messi, the captain of Argentina, took home the Golden Ball and made tournament history by becoming the first player to win it twice.

World Cup Golden Ball: Full winners list….

2022     Lionel Messi (Argentina)

2018     Luka Modric (Croatia)

2014     Lionel Messi (Argentina)

2010    Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

2006    Zinedine Zidane (France)

2002    Oliver Kahn (Germany)

1998    Ronaldo (Brazil)

1994    Romario (Brazil)

1990    Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1986    Diego Maradona (Argentina)

1982    Paolo Rossi (Italy)

Meanwhile, the seven-time Ballon d’Or winner Messi leaves World Cup having put on one of the most significant match-by-match tournament displays ever. Bringing his career total of Player of the Match victories to 11 over five tournaments [ 2006-2022 ].

Also Read: Lionel Messi all records at the age of 35
Also Read: Pele: Top Five FIFA World Cup Records

Also Read: Messi vs Ronaldo All time league goals/assists records
Also Read: Who has scored the most Champions League hat-tricks?

Give Your Comment

Invalid Click