List of European Golden Boot winners from 2001 to 2020

Some of the greatest scorers in football history have been traded in Europe, but only a few have managed to win the European Golden Shoe. Every season, the Golden Boot often competes fiercely with the best scorer across Europe.

Argentine superstar Lionel Messi and Portuguese legend Cristiano Ronaldo dominated the European golden shoe award in this two decades (2001-2020).

Below is the list of Golden Shoe winners from 2001 to 2020 below.

2001–02 Mário Jardel Sporting CP Primeira Liga42
2002–03 Roy MakaayDeportivo La Coruña La Liga29
2003–04 Thierry HenryArsenal Premier League30
2004–05 Diego Forlan & Thierry Henry Villarreal & ArsenalPremier League25
2005–06 Luca ToniFiorentina Serie A31
2006–07 Francesco TottiRoma Serie A26
2007–08 Cristiano RonaldoManchester United ^ Premier League31
2008–09 Diego Forlán Atlético Madrid La Liga32
2009–10 Lionel MessiBarcelona  La Liga34
2010–11 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid La Liga40
2011–12 Lionel Messi Barcelona La Liga50
2012–13 Lionel Messi Barcelona  La Liga46
2013–14 Cristiano Ronaldo & Luis SuárezReal Madrid & Liverpool Premier League31
2014–15 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid La Liga48
2015–16 Luis Suárez Barcelona  La Liga40
2016–17 Lionel Messi Barcelona La Liga37
2017–18 Lionel Messi Barcelona  La Liga34
2018–19 Lionel Messi Barcelona  La Liga36
2019–20 Ciro ImmobileLazio Serie A36
European Golden Shoe winners from 2001 to 2020

Also Read: Ballon d’Or Winners Without Messi and Ronaldo 2010 to 2020
Also Read: Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are the Best Footballers in the history

European Golden Shoe

The European Golden Shoe is also known as the European golden boot. This award is awarded to the top scorers from the top leagues of various European countries every season. Furthermore, the trophy is a sculpture of a football boot. Since the creation of the 1967-68 season, the award was originally called Soulier d’Or. The award was translated from French to Golden Shoe or Boot. Argentine legend Lionel Messi holds the record for winning this award maximum times.

Also Read: 7 legends who didn’t win the Ballon d’Or
Also Read: Messi and Ronaldo boycotted the Ballon d’ Or 2018

Give Your Comment

Invalid Click